Lee Slater Named AGU Fellow

Add This

Lee Slater, Distinguished Professor and Henry Rutgers Professor in Geophysics at Rutgers University-Newark, is among 62 scientists chosen as part of the prestigious AGU (American Geophysical Union) Fellows for 2018.

Lee SlaterSlater is an internationally recognized expert in near surface geophysics and hydrogeophysics. He has published extensively, including 143 papers in peer reviewed international journals of hydrogeology and geophysics. Lee has served as principal investigator on multiple research and technology demonstration projects funded by the US Department of Defense, US Department of Energy, US Department of Agriculture, US National Parks Service and National Science Foundation. He has also served in prominent leadership roles in the academic geophysical community, including Chair of the Near Surface Geophysics Focus Group of the American Geophysical Union (AGU), Chair of the AGU Hydrogeophysics Technical Committee and President of the Environmental and Engineering Geophysical Society (EEGS). Lee currently serves as Associate Editor of Water Resources Research (WRR) and he recently edited a new volume on Near Surface Geophysics published in the 2nd Edition of the Treatise on Geophysics, part of the Elsevier Major International Reference series. Lee has served on multiple advisory boards for large interdisciplinary hydrogeological research projects in Europe. He was the recipient of the 2013 Harold B. Mooney award of the Society of Exploration Geophysicists (SEG). His numerous PhD graduates have mostly gone onto academic positions and are now making their own contributions to advancing research in hydrogeophysics.

2018 Class of AGU Fellows Announced

AGU is proud to have chosen 62 new Fellows and will honor them at the upcoming Fall Meeting 2018 in Washington, D. C. Each year since 1962, AGU has elected as Fellows members whose visionary leadership and scientific excellence have fundamentally advanced research in their respective fields. This year, 62 members will make up the 2018 class of Fellows. AGU Fellows are recognized for their scientific eminence in the Earth and space sciences. Their breadth of interests and the scope of their contributions are remarkable and often groundbreaking. Only 0.1% of AGU membership receives this recognition in any given year. On behalf of the AGU Honors and Recognition Committee, the Union Fellows Committee, the section Fellows committees, and AGU leaders and staff, we are immensely proud to present the 2018 class of AGU Fellows. We appreciate the efforts of everyone who provided support and commitment to AGU’s Honors Program. Our dedicated volunteers gave valuable time and energy as members of selection committees to elect this year’s Fellows. We also thank all the nominators and supporters who made this possible through their dedicated efforts to nominate and recognize their colleagues.

Honor and Celebrate Eminence at Fall Meeting

At this year’s Honors Tribute, to be held Wednesday, 12 December, at Fall Meeting 2018 in Washington, D. C., we will celebrate and honor the exceptional achievements, visionary leadership, talents, and dedication of 62 new AGU Fellows.

Read full announcement with list of fellows