Diversity Timeline

Diversity Through Time: 1900s to 1930s

          1900s-1930s | 1930s-1940s | 1950s | 1960s | 1970s | 1980s | 1990s | 21st Century

These decades see the creation and growth of New Jersey Law School, Dana College, the Newark Institute of Arts & Sciences, the Seth Boyden School of Business and the Mercer Beasley School of Law, all in Newark. In 1911 the first graduating class of the New Jersey Law School includes Elizabeth Blume-Silverstein, who would go on to pass the bar in 1913 and practice law in Newark until the mid-1980s.


The five Newark-based schools form a series of alliances that leads to a merger in 1936 and the establishment of the University of Newark. The University of Newark, like its predecessor schools, serves primarily the children of European immigrants, mainly Jewish, Protestant and Catholic, primarily male and primarily New Jersey residents.


Back to Diversity Home


  • Page 1 of 8